Whānau Groups

Whānau groups are an integral part of the ethos of Grant’s Braes School. Students are placed within one of the four Whānau Groups and stay with this group during their time at school. Events and activities are organised and this fosters co-operation, togetherness and friendship. Each year nominations are called for from the Year 6 students and an election is held to appoint the house captains and vice-captains for the year.


The names of the Whānau groups are taken from the surrounding streets and roads of the school and each has a special colour connected to it.


Whānau Groups

Belford - Kākāriki

Captain: Claudia Vice Captain: Elyssa

Dunrobin - Whero

Captain: Connor Vice Captain: Sasanka

Larnach - Kikorangi

Captain: Sophie Vice Captain: Charlotte

Mathieson - Karaka

Captain: Luca Vice Captain: Maisie